Skip to content

How to Get PR for your Startup

August 20, 2008

If you’ve ever started your own business (or even worked for a small company) you know how difficult it can be to get the media’s attention. Sometimes it seems like they’ll write about everyone and everything except your company. Well have no fear, I just stumbled across a video at Omnisio (an awesome site in and of itself) starring Michael Arrington. In it, Arrington explains how entrepreneurs can get the media’s attention and get your business’ name out there in front of the public.

In a nutshell? Share what you least want shared. Yep. That PR catastrophe you had last month? Share it. Or even better… leak it… to just the right blogger.

Think about it, if it’s something you’re embarrased about… it’s that much more interesting for the rest of us. And if you “leak” it to just the right persons, they’ll feel like they’re getting an exclusive scoop.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Just an FYI, I came by from a link on Nate Kartchner’s site, an old buddy of mine. I’ve done this myself a couple of times. I’ve also noticed that saying rude or inflammatory things gets traffic, but it’s a bit more shady. I’m actually working on a project right now that would involve some of this. It would mean traffic for whoever wants to help out. Let me know if you’re interested.

  2. I realized my last post might have insinuated that my project involves “shady” things. Not true. Sorry. My project involves driving traffic…just for clarification.

Leave a Reply

